Sleepy Town Manufacture + Unit 21 - No Traces

Sleepy Town Manufacture + Unit 21 - No TracesThe latest for the moment release of American label Infraction pleasantly surprises by its unique package - two dense sheets of the basic envelope hide 5 square cardboards with photos printed on them. These photos were made inside an old house battered by time. Stylish artificial 'agedness' is exactly what's needed - the album's cover becomes the entrance door to the room of dusty, rough sound crackling under the years' pressure. As if we had entered the room and started deepening into its atmosphere, watching the life moments seen by its walls – life of several generations who lived here. Such interesting alloy was created by two Russian musicians - Alexander Ananyev (aka Sleepy Town Manufacture) and Stanislav Vdovin (aka Unit 21). Ananyev made the ambient cover of slow electronic backings and field records, Vdovin textured this substance by his master clicks and vinyl plates' crackling. By means of sounds various views are drawn inside the imaginary room, these are the pictures of the past and dreams of the future.

Further, in the middle of the album clicks and crackles sound already a little bit persistently. It seems it was a blunder to over-stress them and draw to the foreground of general composition. In general, in some places the impression form the album is spoiled by unpleasant low-frequency 'rubbish' as for example turn up buzzing 'charges' in the last track "Continent". They properly warmed up my inside and neighbors' nerves. That's why I think it's better to listen to this album in headphones. Headphones (at least my ones) level the 'droning effect' heard in some places, also they create more intimate atmosphere for contact with this music. Creative work of both musicians was familiar to me earlier and the album didn't surprise me by anything except its interesting cover. I think it's not the best their work, though in general 'No Traces' can be called a pleasant, memorizable release with its unique mood.

- Infraction
- Sleepy Town Manufacture

order at Norman Records order at Smallfish

recent releases
Yellow Swans - Going Places
CD / Type

Snog - Last of the Great Roman…
CD / Hymen

Mathias Delplanque - Passeport…
CD / Crónica

Somatic Responses - Neon
CD / Hymen

Bipol - Fritter Away
CD / Ant-Zen

KoChu - Sound Forms
digital / Justified Music

Daníel Bjarnason - Proces…
CD / Bedroom Community

Amman/Josh - Places
CD / Dynamophone

The Soul's Release - Where the…
CD / Dynamophone

Polaski - 37 Ways
digital / Kahvi

Federico Monti - Polen
digital / Koyuki

Ten and Tracer - You'll be a H…
digital / Archaic Horizon

V/A - Flowers Dragon's Eye Fou…
digital / Dragon's Eye

Ben Fleury-Steiner - Keep a We…
CD / Infraction

Kyle Bobby Dunn - A Young Pers…
2xCD / Low Point

BJNilsen - The Invisible City
CD / Touch

Robert Curgenven - Oltre
CD / Line

Minamo - Durée
CD / 12k

Ido Govrin - Moraine
CD / Interval

Corey Fuller - Seas Between
CDr / Dragon's Eye

Shinkei + mise_en_scene - Scyt…
CD / mAtter

I/DEX - Tetrapolar
digital / Foundamental Network

Henning Schmiedt - Wolken
CD / Flau

Werken - Sum
digital / Zymogen

Mika Vainio - Time Examined
Book + 2xCD / raster-noton

V/A - Emerging Organisms 3
2xCD / Tympanik Audio

Opposite Exhale - Nothing Last…
CD / Tympanik Audio

ESA - The Immaculate Manipulat…
CD / Tympanik Audio

Wouter Van Veldhoven - Mort Au…
CD / Mort Aux Vaches

Oren Ambarchi - Intermission 2…
CD / Touch

friends - CD, Vinyl, T-shirts